Discount market sale homes: how they work, who can buy and which lenders accept them
Discount market sale homes are sold at least 20% below market value, with the discount kept for the next buyer. There's no single national scheme: each council sets its own rules. Here is how they work, how councils differ, and which lenders accept them.
Last reviewed 23 September 2026
Quick answer
A discount market sale home is sold for at least 20% below local market value, and stays discounted when you sell. Councils set the rules locally: discounts of 20–50%, income caps usually of £65,000 to £80,000, and often a local connection. Many schemes are not limited to first-time buyers. Unlike First Homes, it is still defined in the planning framework that applies from 17 August 2026.
Of the 76 residential lenders in our criteria dataset, 51 publish a position on discount market sale: 14 accept it, 12 look at it case-by-case and 25 decline it. The other 25 publish nothing either way, so ask the lender directly.
What is a discount market sale home?
The National Planning Policy Framework (August 2026, Annex B) defines discounted market sales housing as housing “sold at a discount of at least 20% below local market value”, adding that “provisions should be in place to ensure housing remains at a discount for future eligible households.” It applies from 17 August 2026.
You buy the whole home, so there's no rent. The discount is usually written into a planning agreement (a section 106 agreement) between the council and the developer, and it carries on when the home is resold.
First Homes is a nationally standardised version: at least 30% off rather than 20%, national income and price caps, and first-time buyers only. The August 2026 framework no longer mentions First Homes, but keeps the discounted market sales definition, which is why discount market sale is the longer-lasting of the two.
Numbers are small. The official “affordable home ownership” category, which includes discount market sale alongside rent to buy and some shared ownership, recorded 1,076 completions in England in 2024-25, so discount market sale itself is fewer than that. The government's £39bn affordable homes programme for 2026 to 2036 doesn't fund it; these homes come through planning agreements.
How council schemes differ
Five real examples, each as described on the council's own page. Always check your council's current policy and the planning agreement for the specific home.
| Council | Discount | Income cap | Who can buy | Resale |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| SeftonSefton Council, Feb 2026 | At least 20% | £65,000, rising to £80,000 after 3 months | Not limited to first-time buyers | Not stated on the page we checked |
| South TynesideSouth Tyneside policy statement, Jul 2023 | Typically 30%; 40%+ in named villages | £80,000 | Local connection; not first-time-buyer only | After 6 months unsold, the council may buy or allow an open-market sale with the discount repaid |
| CornwallCornwall Council, Feb 2025 | 20–50% | £80,000 | Parish connection and housing need | After 90 days, any buyer, but still at the discounted price |
| Babergh and Mid SuffolkMid Suffolk District Council | At least 20% | Not stated on the page we checked | 2-year local connection; deposit no more than 65% | 8-week resale window |
| Cheshire West and ChesterCheshire West and Chester Council | Not stated on the page we checked | Under £80,000 | Deposit of 5–65%; adviser check | Not stated on the page we checked |
Others vary again: Durham allows previous owners to buy, and Northumberland's resale process involves a RICS valuation and council fees. Westmorland & Furness dropped First Homes in 2025 but kept its own discounted sale scheme.
Who can buy: the common patterns
- An income cap, usually between £65,000 and £80,000. Sefton starts at £65,000 and rises to £80,000 once a home has been marketed for three months.
- A local connection, such as South Tyneside's local connection test, Cornwall's parish connection or Babergh and Mid Suffolk's two years.
- A cap on your deposit, so the scheme goes to people who need the discount: no more than 65% at Babergh and Mid Suffolk, and 5–65% at Cheshire West and Chester.
- Often open to people who aren't first-time buyers. Sefton and South Tyneside say so explicitly, and Durham allows previous owners.
- Sometimes a housing need test (Cornwall) or a check by an adviser (Cheshire West and Chester).
Which lenders accept discount market sale?
Of the 76 residential lenders in our criteria dataset, 51 publish a position on discount market sale: 14 accept it, 12 look at it case-by-case and 25 decline it. The other 25 publish nothing either way, so ask the lender directly. The table is built from our lender criteria dataset, not a hand-picked list. Criteria last verified 23 September 2026; table generated 23 September 2026. 76 of the 51 positions have been checked against a published lender source so far; the rest are marked in the last column.
| Lender | Max LTV | LTV measured on | Remortgage | Source checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Accepts (14) | ||||
| BarclaysHigh street Discounted Market Sales accepted: max 85% LTV on discounted price and, where a S106 applies, no more than 80% of open-market value (quote: Maximum 85% LTV based on the discounted sale price. Where there is a section 106 agreement, the LTV must not exceed 80% of the open market value). Same 85% for houses and flats. Product availability banded on full market value. Mortgagee-in-possession clause required, nomination period max 3 months; remortgage accepted (Discounted Market Sale (Purchase and Remortgage)). | 85% | Discounted price | Accepted | 23 September 2026 |
| HalifaxHigh street Resale Price Covenant/DMS accepted with 5% deposit, LTV on discounted price (quote: For product selection the percentage loan to value (LTV) used will be loan amount against the discounted purchase price). New-build houses 95%, new-build flats 85% (quote: New Build Houses up to 95%. New Build Flats up to 85%); otherwise normal max LTVs apply. Resale price must be a % of market value (not an index), Affordable Housing products only, repayment only. Remortgage accepted via Affordable Housing Remortgage range; further advance max 85% of discounted value. | 95% | Discounted price | Accepted | 23 September 2026 |
| NationwideHigh street Restricted Resale Price accepted up to 90% LTV on discounted price (quote: The maximum LTV percentage is 90% based on the restricted value, not the open market value). New-build flats 85% (New Build LTV limits apply). Price must be a defined % of open-market value; not with shared ownership/equity loan/sheltered. Remortgage accepted (quote: Remortgages are also considered. LTV percentage is based on the restricted value). | 90% | Discounted price | Accepted | 23 September 2026 |
| TSBHigh street 'Discount Market Sales are acceptable providing they meet the conditions of the Affordable Housing Scheme and the discount is subsequently passed on from purchaser to purchaser' (original-purchaser-only discount = Concessionary Purchase, outside policy). 'The property value keyed represents the amount they are purchasing the property for or for a remortgage the percentage of the market value they own' (LTV on discounted price; remortgage accepted). Scheme-specific LTV not published; general max used: house purchase 95%, new build houses 95%, new build flats 85%, existing flats 90%; ask BDM how to key. | 95% | Discounted price | Accepted | 23 September 2026 |
| Atom Bank Considered only via the S106 rule (quote: Where there is a restriction on remarketing of the property e.g. Affordable Housing Schemes or Local Ownership Schemes this will be acceptable provided there is a Mortgagee Exclusion Clause). DMS not named; no scheme LTV, LTV basis, flats limit or remortgage rule published. | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 23 September 2026 |
| Chorley BS Dedicated product Discount Market Scheme - 2 Year Discount 95% LTV (Minimum of 20% OMV Discount). Criteria: 95% LTV on discounted price, capped at 90% of open-market value for houses and 80% for flats/studios (quote: Maximum LTV 95% of discounted purchase price. Maximum LTV of Open Market Value (OMV) 90% (houses) / 80% (flats and studios)); min discounted price 60k houses/100k flats; resale covenant must not bind the Society beyond 13 weeks. Products available for purchase and remortgage unless stated, so remortgage accepted. | 95% | Discounted price | Accepted | 23 September 2026 |
| Cumberland BS Considered: affordable housing (S106) properties accepted for residential mortgages within the Society's core operating area only (quote: Social Affordable Housing Properties - Copy of the Section 106 agreement to have been approved by the Society). DMS not named; no scheme LTV or LTV basis published. General limits would apply: purchase 95%, remortgage 90%, new-build houses 90%, new-build flats 80%. | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 23 September 2026 |
| Darlington BS Buyer-achievable max recorded as 80% (specialist S106 range max 80%; criteria say 95% of price with LTV limited to 80%, basis unclear). Affordable housing / discounted purchase schemes: 95% LTV on discounted price, with LTV against full value limited to 80% (quote: The valuation must reflect the full value of the property and confirmation of the purchase price must be provided. The Society will lend 95% of the total purchase price, LTV will be limited to 80%). Uses the Specialist Residential range (quote: Discounted Market Value Purchases and properties with S106... max LTV 80%). Read as an 80% OMV cap, so 95% of price is reachable only where the discount is about 16% or more; if the 80% were on the price it would bind at 80%. 5% own deposit, covenants and S106 agreed by underwriter. Flats not separately limited; remortgage not stated. | 80% | Discounted price | Not stated | 23 September 2026 |
| Ecology BS Affordable Local Homes Mortgage: 'Borrow up to 95% of the property's discounted price' (LTV on discounted price); 'Available for house purchases or re-mortgages, depending on your local scheme's rules' (remortgage accepted); product guide 23.09.26 lists it at 95%. Repayment only, EPC C+, DMS agreement must include a Mortgagee in Possession Clause linked to locality or wage index; no flats-specific limit (brochure 'Not available on flats' applies to Eco Homes, not this product). | 95% | Discounted price | Accepted | 23 September 2026 |
| Furness BS Considered: S106 / affordable housing accepted on a residential basis (quote: We consider Section 106 and Affordable Housing applications on a residential basis only); deed must show non-onerous occupancy/eligibility terms plus mortgagee-in-possession and mortgagee protection clauses. DMS not named; no scheme LTV or LTV basis published. General limits would apply: houses 95%, purpose-built flats 90%. | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 23 September 2026 |
| Leeds BS Same First Homes/DMS range covers other acceptable DMS schemes: live products max 80% LTV, purchase only (LTV basis not stated). Min 5% deposit, repayment only. Remortgage not accepted (range not designed for remortgage); additional borrowing direct only. Flats limit not stated. | 80% | Not stated | Not accepted | 23 September 2026 |
| Loughborough BS DMV/DMS accepted: 95% LTV on discounted price, min loan 50% of discounted price (quote: The minimum mortgage advance amount is the equivalent of 50% of the discounted purchase price. The maximum LTV is 95% of the discounted purchase price). Houses only, repayment only; S106 must have a mortgagee exclusion or cascade clause. Dedicated Discounted Market Value 2 Year Fixed product. Remortgage and further advance accepted with council consent. | 95% | Discounted price | Accepted | 23 September 2026 |
| Penrith BS Restrictive Resale Price Covenant Properties (S106): 'Heartland only. Mortgagee protection clause within S106 up to 90% LTV. No mortgagee protection clause within S106 up to 80% LTV.' S106 sent for mandator approval; new build max 90% and flats max 90%; LTV basis not stated; remortgage not stated; Heartland = CA and LA postcodes. | 90% | Not stated | Not stated | 23 September 2026 |
| Skipton S106 title restrictions accepted including 'discounted purchase price (LTV will be calculated based on the lower purchase price and not the market value)' (LTV on discounted price), if the restriction applies to the first sale only, a cascade starts within 3 months (none after 6), or a Mortgage Exclusion Clause applies. Scheme-specific LTV not published; general max used: 'Discounted/Tenant/Family Purchase 95%', 'New Build (Not Track Record Mortgage) 95%' (houses and flats); remortgage not specifically addressed (general remortgage max 90%). | 95% | Discounted price | Not stated | 23 September 2026 |
| Case-by-case (12) | ||||
| Beverley BS Refer: S106 properties considered on the Flexi Fit unusual-property range to 75% LTV (purchase and remortgage); First Homes/discounted sale not named. | 75% | Not stated | Not stated | 23 September 2026 |
| Buckinghamshire BS Refer: First Homes/discounted sale not named; properties with a restrictive covenant considered case by case via the Key Account Manager. | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 23 September 2026 |
| Earl Shilton BS Refer: S106 local occupancy restrictions considered to 90% LTV of the reduced (restricted) valuation with full S106 wording required; discount/resale-price schemes not named, interest-only not available on restricted properties. | 90% | Not stated | Not stated | 23 September 2026 |
| Harpenden BS Discounted Market Sales can be considered case by case, referred via the BDM team first; general affordable housing not acceptable. | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 23 September 2026 |
| Pepper No specific DMS policy published; for new builds Pepper says it considers Section 106 planning obligations, but properties within a pre-emption period are not acceptable, so refer. | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 23 September 2026 |
| Precise Declines restrictions requiring buyers to be in housing need or below an income cap, which most DMS schemes have. Accepted with conditions: S106 financial obligations paid or indemnified; local living/working restrictions referred; 'Restrictions relating to purchasers being in housing need, not being able to afford to purchase on the open market or having income less than a certain amount are not acceptable' (rules out most income-capped DMS). Scheme-specific LTV not published; general new-build max used: new build house and apartment 'Typical Maximum 90% LTV' (resale homes general max 95%); LTV basis not stated; affordable housing purchase or remortgage accepted subject to valuer and underwriter. | 90% | Not stated | Accepted | 23 September 2026 |
| Principality Criteria conflict: conveyancer instructions accept discounted purchases, but new-build criteria decline S106 affordability restrictions; confirm with the lender. Restricted purchase price accepted (conveyancer S106 instructions) if the borrower still benefits from market-value rises and a mortgagee exclusion clause, 3-6 month cascade or first-sale-only restriction applies; valued at the restricted price (LTV on discounted price); purchases and re-mortgages (remortgage accepted). Scheme-specific LTV not published; general max used: 95% first-time buyers / 90% home movers, new build houses 95% (FTB), new build flats 90%. CONFLICT: criteria also say 'We will not lend on any property that has a restricted occupancy clause i.e. 157 ... or 106 (relating to property affordability)' - confirm with lender. | 95% | Discounted price | Accepted | 23 September 2026 |
| Saffron BS No DMS policy published; restrictive covenants that affect resaleability are not acceptable, so contact Saffron before submitting. | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 23 September 2026 |
| Stafford BS No DMS policy published; Section 106 agreements are considered case by case, so refer. | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 23 September 2026 |
| Suffolk BS Section 106 cases considered depending on the S106 wording and LTV, so contact the Business Development Team. | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 23 September 2026 |
| Swansea BS No DMS policy; Section 106 restrictions considered subject to individual criteria, lender maximum 80% LTV. | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 23 September 2026 |
| Together Most Section 106/restricted-sale properties considered by referral with full details, at a restricted maximum LTV. | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 23 September 2026 |
| Declines (25) | ||||
| AIBHigh street Not available: AIB (NI) lends only on properties in Northern Ireland, so English First Homes / S106 discounted sale homes are out of scope. | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 23 September 2026 |
| Bank of IrelandHigh street Not accepted: properties with occupancy restrictions or onerous restrictive covenants are unacceptable, which excludes S106 eligibility-restricted discounted homes. | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 23 September 2026 |
| Co-operative BankHigh street Not accepted: the Bank will not lend where the property is subject to any restriction in occupancy, use or resale (shared ownership/shared equity/RTB also excluded). | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 23 September 2026 |
| HSBCHigh street Discount for Sale listed as a not-acceptable scheme; no lending with covenants restricting sale price or buyer. | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 23 September 2026 |
| Metro BankHigh street Restrictive covenants on title not accepted, which excludes DMS resale price covenants. | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 23 September 2026 |
| NatWestHigh street Restrictions on selling price (e.g. sold 20% under market value) cannot be considered. | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 23 September 2026 |
| SantanderHigh street Resale price restrictions (sale at a percentage of open-market value) are on the don't-lend list and Low Cost Housing Restricted Resale Covenant applications are declined. | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 23 September 2026 |
| Virgin MoneyHigh street S106 restrictions/restrictive covenants usually not acceptable outside Right to Buy and shared ownership. | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 23 September 2026 |
| Accord Not accepted: Accord lists social housing schemes and properties with restrictions affecting resale value as unacceptable. | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 23 September 2026 |
| Aldermore Not accepted: A-Z lists Discount Market Scheme as Not Acceptable; S106 covenants only accepted where limited to local living/working restrictions. | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 23 September 2026 |
| Bath BS Not accepted: A-Z lists Discount Market Scheme as Not Acceptable (S106 covenants otherwise considered with a mortgagee-in-possession clause). | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 23 September 2026 |
| Central Trust Not available: Central Trust does not offer purchase mortgages; remortgage of First Homes/discounted sale homes not published. | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 23 September 2026 |
| Dudley BS Not accepted: properties with occupancy restrictions including Section 106 restrictions are listed as unacceptable security. | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 23 September 2026 |
| Family BS Not accepted: Discount Market Scheme listed as Not Acceptable and the Society does not lend on properties with a Section 106 restrictive covenant. | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 23 September 2026 |
| Foundation Not accepted: properties subject to restrictive covenants or occupancy restrictions are listed as unacceptable property. | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 23 September 2026 |
| Gatehouse Not accepted for purchase: affordable housing schemes not acceptable for residential home purchase plans; refinance of affordable housing accepted. | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 23 September 2026 |
| Generation Home Section 106 resale restrictions not accepted; its Discounted market sale entry covers below-market-value purchases (lend on lower of price/valuation, 5% deposit), not S106 DMS homes. | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 23 September 2026 |
| Hinckley & Rugby BS Discount Market Scheme not accepted and restricted sale price clauses not accepted. | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 23 September 2026 |
| Newcastle BS Properties under the Discount Market Scheme are listed as unacceptable. | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 23 September 2026 |
| Norton Discounted Market Sales not accepted. | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 23 September 2026 |
| Perenna Resale-restricted property is usually not acceptable; exceptions only where a strong case shows saleability is not detrimentally affected. | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 23 September 2026 |
| The Mortgage Lender Re-sale and S106 restrictions not accepted (stated for shared-ownership leases) and occupancy-restricted properties are unacceptable. | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 23 September 2026 |
| Vernon BS Vernon states it is unable to consider Discount Market Schemes or properties with S106 restrictive covenants. | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 23 September 2026 |
| Vida Discounted Market Sales / Section 106 / Section 75 not acceptable. | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 23 September 2026 |
| West Bromwich BS Low cost housing/restricted resale covenant schemes are unacceptable (other than the shared-ownership S106 cases detailed). | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 23 September 2026 |
| Publishes no position (25) | ||||
| Bluestone Not published: First Homes and discounted market sale not mentioned (schemes-not-accepted list covers Homebuy, Key Worker, shared equity and shared ownership only). | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 23 September 2026 |
| Cambridge BS Not published: no First Homes, discounted market sale or S106 policy found (occupancy-restriction exclusion lists 11-month, age and student-only restrictions). | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 23 September 2026 |
| Coutts Not published: no discounted market sale policy; minimum loan for new clients exceeds £1.5m. | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 23 September 2026 |
| Coventry BS Not published: residential criteria do not mention First Homes, discounted market sale, S106 or resale restrictions. | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 23 September 2026 |
| Cynergy Not published: no First Homes, discounted market sale or S106 policy found in intermediary criteria. | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 23 September 2026 |
| Hanley BS No DMS/discount-sale policy published; criteria list Section 106 plots as an acceptable restriction, so confirm with lender. | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 23 September 2026 |
| Hodge not published | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 23 September 2026 |
| Kensington not published | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 23 September 2026 |
| Lendinvest not published | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 23 September 2026 |
| LG Home Finance Not published (later-life lender; only onerous restrictive covenants such as agricultural ties are declined). | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 23 September 2026 |
| Livemore Not published (later-life lender). | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 23 September 2026 |
| Mansfield BS No DMS policy published; criteria grid accepts s106 properties only on the Versatility range (max 85% LTV), so confirm with lender. | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 23 September 2026 |
| Market Harborough BS Not published; restrictive covenant or occupancy restrictions considered case by case via BDM. | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 23 September 2026 |
| Marsden BS not published | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 23 September 2026 |
| Melton BS not published | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 23 September 2026 |
| Monmouthshire BS not published | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 23 September 2026 |
| Newbury BS Not published in current criteria A-Z or product guide. | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 23 September 2026 |
| Nottingham BS Not published (shared ownership/shared equity/HomeBuy purchases not acceptable). | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 23 September 2026 |
| Progressive BS Not published: no DMS/S106 resale policy found; England lending is limited to South East postcodes via Openwork ARs, houses only. | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 23 September 2026 |
| Scottish BS Not published: no DMS, S106 or resale-covenant policy found in the property criteria. | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 23 September 2026 |
| Tandem Not published; Tandem is no longer accepting new first-charge applications and its criteria do not mention DMS or resale covenants. | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 23 September 2026 |
| Teachers BS Not published: no DMS or resale-covenant policy in the lending criteria. | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 23 September 2026 |
| Tipton & Coseley BS Not published; S106 permitted only where the Society can sell on the open market at full market value after at most 3 months (shared-ownership rule), so confirm with Tipton. | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 23 September 2026 |
| UTB Not published: no DMS or resale-covenant policy in UTB's residential criteria. | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 23 September 2026 |
| West One Not published: no DMS or resale-covenant policy in West One's residential criteria guide. | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 23 September 2026 |
“Case-by-case” means the lender considers it on referral or needs more detail, not a decline. “Not stated” means our dataset holds no figure, not that there is no limit. Lender criteria change often, so confirm the current position with the lender or a broker before you apply.
What lenders' own criteria pages say
From the intermediary criteria pages we checked on 23 September 2026:
- Barclays: up to 85% of the discounted price, or 80% of market value where there's a section 106 agreement. It needs a mortgagee-in-possession clause and a nomination period of no more than 3 months.
- TSB: accepted if the discount passes from buyer to buyer; a discount for the original buyer only is outside its policy. The valuation is reported at the discounted percentage of market value.
- Halifax: accepted, as long as the resale price is set as a percentage of market value rather than by an index.
- Nationwide: up to 90% of the restricted (discounted) value, and 85% for new-build flats. Its 95% route is for First Homes only, so other restricted-resale homes stop at 90%.
- Skipton accepts discount market sale, and Leeds Building Society offers the same 80% maximum range it uses for First Homes.
- NatWest and HSBC don't accept restrictions on the resale price or buyer.
Resale, and why it matters to lenders
A lender needs to know it can sell the home if things go wrong, so the resale terms in the planning agreement decide whether a home is mortgageable:
- The discount should pass from one buyer to the next. TSB, for example, won't lend where the discount applies to the original buyer only.
- The resale price should be a fixed percentage of market value. Halifax won't accept one set by an index.
- The agreement should include a mortgagee exclusion (or mortgagee-in-possession) clause, which lets a lender that repossesses sell at full market value.
- Nomination periods, when the council can find the next buyer, matter too. Barclays accepts no more than 3 months.
- Some older agreements set the price by income rather than as a percentage. Cornwall says some of these need converting to a percentage before lenders will accept them.
When you sell, expect to market the home to eligible buyers first: 8 weeks at Babergh and Mid Suffolk, 90 days in Cornwall (after which any buyer can purchase, still at the discounted price), and 6 months in South Tyneside (after which the council may buy it or allow an open-market sale with the discount repaid). We found no current council page offering a way to buy out the discount, though older individual agreements may differ, so read yours.
Work out a discount market sale price and mortgage
The value before any discount, as in the sales details.
At least 20%. Your council's scheme sets the exact figure.
5% of the discounted price
Discounted price
£240,000
£60,000 (20%) off a £300,000 market value
- Loan needed
- £228,000
- Deposit
- £12,000
Your council sets the eligibility rules
There is no national price or income cap for discount market sale. Councils set their own income limit, local connection test and whether you must be a first-time buyer. Some also limit the deposit: Mid Suffolk and Cheshire West cap it at 65% of the price.
LTV on discounted price
95%
£228,000 of £240,000
LTV on market value
76%
£228,000 of £300,000
Lenders don't all measure these homes the same way. Nationwide and Skipton lend up to 95% of the discounted price. Halifax also lends up to 95% of the discounted price but sets your rate from the LTV on full market value, which can put you in a cheaper rate band. The same loan can therefore sit in a different band at different lenders.
| 25 years | 30 years | 35 years |
|---|---|---|
| £1,333 | £1,224 | £1,151 |
5% is an illustrative rate, not a quote. Your rate depends on the lender, your LTV band and the product.
1 of 15 lenders in our table would lend £228,000 or more on an income of £40,000 (range £179,600 to £240,000).
From each lender's published income multiple for a straightforward employed case with no other debts. Your outgoings, credit history and the lender's own affordability model can lower it.
14 lenders on our panel accept discount market sale in their published criteria.
Free, no credit search. We carry over the £240,000 discounted price as the purchase price and your £228,000 loan and your income.
Information only, not advice.
Discount market sale vs shared ownership vs Right to Buy
| Discount market sale | Shared ownership | Right to Buy | |
|---|---|---|---|
| What you own | 100%, at 20%+ off | A share, renting the rest | 100% of your council home |
| Rent | None | On the share you don't own | None after purchase |
| The discount | Stays with the home for future buyers | No discount; buy more shares later | A tenant discount, capped at £16,000–£38,000 since 21 Nov 2024 |
| If you sell early | At the same discount | — | Discount repayable if you sell within 5 years |
| Homes a year | Around 1,000 or fewer | About 20,000 | — |
Right to Buy is changing. The Social Housing Bill, which is going through Parliament (Commons committee stage from 27 October 2026), proposes 10 years' tenancy before you qualify, discounts of 5–15%, and a 10-year window in which the discount is repayable. These are proposals and could change before the Bill becomes law. The Bill doesn't affect discount market sale or First Homes.
Shared ownership has far more homes and government funding behind it. To see what you could borrow on a share, try the shared ownership mortgage calculator or read how shared ownership affordability works.
Frequently asked questions
What is discount market sale?
A discount market sale (DMS) home is sold for at least 20% below its local market value, with rules to keep it at a discount for future buyers. That is how the National Planning Policy Framework, which applies from 17 August 2026, defines discounted market sales housing. Councils set the eligibility rules locally, usually through planning agreements.
Who is eligible for discount market sale?
It depends on the council. Common rules are a household income cap, usually £65,000 to £80,000, a local connection, and sometimes a cap on how big a deposit you can put down (65% at Babergh and Mid Suffolk). Many schemes are not limited to first-time buyers, and some, such as Durham's, allow previous owners.
What are the pros and cons of discount market sale?
The main advantage is owning 100% of the home at a discount of at least 20%, with no rent to pay. The downsides are that you sell at the same discount, usually to an eligible buyer within a set window, fewer lenders accept these homes, and the rules vary so much between councils that you need to read your own planning agreement carefully.
Can I get a mortgage on a discount market sale home?
Yes, though the choice of lenders is narrower than for a standard purchase. Of the 76 residential lenders in our criteria dataset, 51 publish a position on discount market sale: 14 accept it, 12 look at it case-by-case and 25 decline it. The other 25 publish nothing either way, so ask the lender directly. Lenders generally want the discount to pass from one buyer to the next and the planning agreement to include a mortgagee exclusion clause, and they differ on whether the loan-to-value is measured on the discounted price or the full market value.
Which lenders accept discount market sale?
High-street lenders marked as accepting in our dataset include Barclays, Halifax, Nationwide and TSB. High-street lenders marked as declining include AIB, Bank of Ireland, Co-operative Bank, HSBC, Metro Bank, NatWest, Santander and Virgin Money. Barclays' published criteria allow up to 85% of the discounted price, or 80% of market value where there's a planning agreement. The full lender-by-lender table is on this page.
Is discount market sale the same as First Homes?
First Homes is a nationally standardised form of discount market sale: a minimum 30% discount instead of 20%, national income and price caps, and first-time buyers only. Other discount market sale schemes are set council by council. Unlike First Homes, discount market sale is still defined in the August 2026 planning framework.
Can I sell a discount market sale home?
Yes, but the discount normally passes to the next buyer, and many councils give you a set window to find an eligible one: 8 weeks at Babergh and Mid Suffolk, 90 days in Cornwall, 6 months in South Tyneside. What happens after that also varies, from the council buying the home to an open-market sale with the discount repaid.
Is discount market sale only for first-time buyers?
Not always. Unlike First Homes, many council schemes are open to other buyers. Sefton and South Tyneside both say theirs are not limited to first-time buyers, and Durham allows previous owners.
This guide is information, not advice, and is not a recommendation to take out any specific mortgage product. We are not FCA authorised. Council scheme rules and lender criteria change, so confirm them with your council, the lender or a qualified, FCA-authorised adviser before you act.
See what you could borrow
A free two-minute check across UK lenders, with no credit search.
Start My Free CheckRelated guides
First Homes Scheme 2026
Still available? The 2026 policy position, resale rules and which lenders accept it.
Shared Ownership Affordability
How mortgage-plus-rent affordability works and who qualifies.
First-Time Buyer Schemes
LISA, First Homes, Shared Ownership, Freedom to Buy and more.
Down Valuations
What to do when the surveyor values below your offer.