Skip to main content

First Homes scheme 2026: is it still available, and which lenders accept it?

First Homes is still open, but national planning policy has moved away from it and very few are being built. This guide covers where the scheme stands after the August 2026 planning changes, who can buy, how the discount and resale rules work, and which lenders accept it.

Last reviewed 12 October 2026

Quick answer

Yes, First Homes is still available: the gov.uk guide still presents it as open. But the national rule that 25% of affordable housing should be First Homes went in December 2024, and the planning framework that applies from 17 August 2026 doesn't appear to mention First Homes. Whether new ones are built now depends on your council. Only 292 were completed in England in 2024-25. There is no national list: homes are sold through developers and estate agents, with the council approving each buyer.

Of the 75 residential lenders in our criteria dataset, 54 publish a position on First Homes: 10 accept it, 17 look at it case-by-case and 27 decline it. The other 21 publish nothing either way, so ask the lender directly.

Is First Homes ending?

The government hasn't announced that the scheme is closing. What has changed is planning policy, and that decides whether First Homes get built at all:

  1. May 2021

    The government creates First Homes in a written statement of 24 May 2021 and planning guidance. It expects at least 25% of affordable housing on new developments to be First Homes.

  2. December 2024

    The government's response of 12 December 2024 confirms the 25% First Homes requirement no longer applies. Councils can still ask for First Homes if they choose, through planning agreements (deals between a developer and the council) and exception sites (land not normally allowed for housing).

  3. October 2025

    In a written answer the minister says "local authorities now have discretion over whether to deliver First Homes".

  4. Councils revoking

    Westmorland & Furness dropped First Homes in 2025 but kept its own discounted sale scheme. A March 2026 report to Redditch council asked for permission to scrap its First Homes policy. It said 30% discounts were unaffordable locally and housing associations objected.

  5. 17 August 2026

    The new National Planning Policy Framework (England's main planning rules) applies. It doesn't appear to mention First Homes, removes First Homes exception sites, and lists the May 2021 statement as replaced. It still defines discounted market sales housing: homes sold at least 20% below local market value, and kept at a discount for future buyers.

Supply has been falling. Official figures for homes completed (Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government, live table 1000, June 2026):

YearFirst Homes completed in England
2021-2235
2022-231,021
2023-24614
2024-25292

All 292 in 2024-25 came through planning agreements rather than government funding, and the government's £39bn affordable homes programme for 2026 to 2036 doesn't fund First Homes. Figures for 2025-26 had not been published when this guide was last reviewed.

Not to be confused with Your First Home, a separate equity-loan scheme (the government lends part of the price) for first-time buyers of new-build homes in England, confirmed at the Budget on 28 October 2026. It isn't open yet: applications are expected from February 2027.

Who can buy a First Home?

The national rules, from the gov.uk First Homes guide:

  • You must be a first-time buyer as stamp duty defines it (you've never owned a home anywhere in the world), and aged 18 or over. If you buy jointly, every buyer must be a first-time buyer.
  • Household income must be £80,000 or less (£90,000 in London), combined for joint buyers and based on the previous tax year.
  • It must be your main home, and the scheme is in England only.
  • You need a mortgage (or a home purchase plan, the Islamic-finance alternative) for at least 50% of the discounted price. Cash buyers can't use the scheme.
  • You can put a Lifetime ISA or Help to Buy ISA towards it, but not a Help to Buy equity loan.

For the first three months a home is on sale, the council can add its own rules: a local connection, key worker status (as the council defines it) or a lower income cap. Members of the armed forces and recent veterans don't have to meet local connection rules. After three months, only the national rules apply to buyers, but the rules on the home itself, such as the discount percentage, stay in place.

How the discount and price caps work

The discount is at least 30% of market value, and a council can set it at 40% or 50%. After the discount, the price can't be more than £250,000 (£420,000 in London). That cap applies to the first sale only. Councils can also set lower caps: Sefton, for example, caps prices at £195,000, £220,000 or £250,000 depending on the number of bedrooms, with a £65,000 income cap.

Worked example

  • Market value of the new home: £330,000
  • 30% discount: £99,000 off, so you pay £231,000 (under the £250,000 cap)
  • Minimum mortgage under the 50% rule: £115,500
  • With a 10% deposit of £23,100, you borrow £207,900
  • That loan is 90% of the price you pay, but only 63% of the full market value

A home worth £400,000 outside London wouldn't qualify at a 30% discount, because £280,000 is over the cap. It would need a 40% discount (£240,000).

Which lenders accept First Homes?

Of the 75 residential lenders in our criteria dataset, 54 publish a position on First Homes: 10 accept it, 17 look at it case-by-case and 27 decline it. The other 21 publish nothing either way, so ask the lender directly. The table comes from our dataset of lenders' published lending rules (criteria), not a hand-picked list. Criteria last checked 12 October 2026; table generated 12 October 2026. All 75 lenders' positions have been checked against a published lender source, linked in the last column.

Lenders by First Homes position: accepts, case-by-case, declines
LenderMax LTVLTV measured onRemortgageSource checked
Accepts (10)
BarclaysHigh street

First Homes not named in Barclays criteria; verdict inferred from its Discounted Market Sale policy, so confirm with the lender. First Homes not named; handled under the Discounted Market Sales policy (First Homes are S106 discounted-sale homes). Max 85% LTV on discounted price and, where a S106 applies, no more than 80% of open-market value (quote: Maximum 85% LTV based on the discounted sale price. Where there is a section 106 agreement, the LTV must not exceed 80% of the open market value). Same 85% for houses and flats (both columns of the special-schemes table). Product availability banded on full market value. Mortgagee-in-possession clause required, nomination period max 3 months; remortgage accepted (table row reads Discounted Market Sale (Purchase and Remortgage)).

85%Discounted priceAccepted12 October 2026
HalifaxHigh street

First Homes (England) up to 95% LTV on discounted price for houses and flats (quote: Up to 95% LTV of the discounted purchase price for both houses and flats; loan plus incentives and fees cannot exceed 95% of the discounted purchase price). Dedicated First Homes products must be used; the product LTV band is loan against full market value, so a 95% loan usually prices in a lower band. FTBs only, repayment only, min loan 50% of discounted price, council Authority to Proceed needed. Remortgage accepted via Affordable Housing Remortgage range; further advance max 85% of discounted value.

95%Depends on productAccepted23 September 2026
NationwideHigh street

First Homes purchases up to 95% LTV on discounted price for new-build houses/flats and second-hand (quote: Your client can borrow up to 95% LTV on First Homes applications for New Build houses/flats and second-hand properties; We base the LTV for both product and credit scoring purposes on the discounted price/value, not the open market value). Over 90% for houses or over 85% for flats must go by manual email application with Local Authority acceptance. FTB only, no interest only. Remortgage accepted but under Restricted Resale Price criteria, max 90% LTV on restricted value (quote: For second hand property purchases, and remortgage applications, our standard Restricted Resale Price criteria and LTV applies).

95%Discounted priceAccepted23 September 2026
Chorley BS

Dedicated product Government First Homes Scheme - 2 Year Discount 95% LTV (IP476); manual underwriting, council approval under First Homes needed first, limited issue. Product page says all products available for purchase and remortgage unless stated, so remortgage accepted. LTV basis not stated on the First Homes page; the DMS criteria (95% LTV on discounted price, capped at 90% of open-market value for houses and 80% for flats/studios) are the likely read-across. Flats not specifically addressed.

95%Not statedAccepted23 September 2026
Leeds BS

Dedicated First Homes/DMS range: live products First Homes/DMS 2 Year Fixed and 5 Year Fixed, max 80% LTV, purchase only (LTV basis not stated). Criteria guide only says applications under the Government First Homes scheme are acceptable, contact BDM. Min 5% personal deposit, repayment only, portable. Remortgage not accepted (product sheet says not designed for customers who want to remortgage an existing property purchased using a DMS/FH scheme); additional borrowing direct only. Flats limit not stated.

80%Not statedNot accepted23 September 2026
Loughborough BS

First Homes accepted with 5% deposit of the discounted price and council Authority to Proceed/Eligibility certificate; 95% LTV on discounted price (First Homes/DMV loan rule quote: The maximum LTV is 95% of the discounted purchase price). Houses only (quote: Available on houses only. Flats/Apartments & Maisonettes are not permitted), repayment only. Remortgage accepted (like-for-like, home improvements, transfer of equity) with council consent.

95%Discounted priceAccepted12 October 2026
Mansfield BS

Purchase-only products over 90% and up to 95% LTV (e.g. DID192; DIX306, capital repayment only) say 'Available under the First Homes Scheme'; loans £100,000-£500,000 on that range. LTV basis not published. Flats: general guide says 'New Build Properties, Flats and Maisonettes 90% (85% for new build flats)' (product features take priority for houses); remortgage not stated for First Homes (95% range is purchase-only; general remortgage max 90%).

95%Not statedNot stated12 October 2026
Penrith BS

No First Homes-specific entry; falls under Restrictive Resale Price Covenant Properties (S106): 'Heartland only. Mortgagee protection clause within S106 up to 90% LTV. No mortgagee protection clause within S106 up to 80% LTV.' S106 sent for mandator approval; new build max 90% and flats max 90%; LTV basis not stated; remortgage not stated; Heartland = CA and LA postcodes.

90%Not statedNot stated23 September 2026
Pepper

'Available to 95% Loan to Purchase Price for houses and 90% for flats (including fees) and 70% LTV': LTV on discounted price (houses 95%, flats 90%) with a second cap of 70% of open-market value (not binding at the 30% minimum discount); First Homes product guide Sept 2026 v3.9 shows Product LTV 70% / Loan to Purchase Price 95%; 'First Homes remortgage applications are not acceptable' (remortgage not accepted); England only; Authority to Proceed required; repayment only.

95%Discounted priceNot accepted23 September 2026
Skipton

'New Build houses and flats are acceptable up to 95% LTV' and 'The LTV is based on the loan amount and the purchase price (discounted amount)' (LTV on discounted price; flats also 95%); first-time buyers only, full valuation. Product guide 08/09/2026: FH200/FH201 'First Homes England - Purchase Only' at 95% LTV; FH202/FH203 retention (product transfer only) at 95%; no First Homes remortgage product, so remortgage not accepted (product transfer for existing customers only).

95%Discounted priceNot accepted23 September 2026
Case-by-case (17)
Atom Bank

Considered only via the S106 rule (quote: Where there is a restriction on remarketing of the property e.g. Affordable Housing Schemes or Local Ownership Schemes this will be acceptable provided there is a Mortgagee Exclusion Clause). First Homes not named; no scheme LTV, LTV basis, flats limit or remortgage rule published.

Not statedNot statedNot stated12 October 2026
Bath BS

Refer: First Homes not named; Discount Market Scheme is Not Acceptable but S106 restrictive covenants can be considered with a mortgagee-in-possession clause, LTV on restricted resale value.

Not statedNot statedNot stated23 September 2026
Beverley BS

Refer: S106 properties considered on the Flexi Fit unusual-property range to 75% LTV (purchase and remortgage); First Homes/discounted sale not named.

75%Not statedNot stated23 September 2026
Buckinghamshire BS

Refer: First Homes/discounted sale not named; properties with a restrictive covenant considered case by case via the Key Account Manager.

Not statedNot statedNot stated23 September 2026
Cumberland BS

Considered: affordable housing (S106) properties accepted for residential mortgages within the Society's core operating area only (quote: Social Affordable Housing Properties - Copy of the Section 106 agreement to have been approved by the Society). First Homes/DMS not named; no scheme LTV or LTV basis published. General limits would apply: purchase 95%, remortgage 90%, new-build houses 90%, new-build flats 80%.

Not statedNot statedNot stated12 October 2026
Darlington BS

Can consider First Homes but currently no products available (criteria search, 23 Sep 2026). Criteria accept First Homes (min 30% discount, at least 50% of price funded by mortgage, S106 title restriction) but no products are currently offered (quote: The Society can consider applications under the First Home Scheme, currently no products available), so no achievable LTV. If products return, the affordable housing rule would apply: 95% of the discounted price with LTV limited to 80% of full value. Remortgage not stated.

Not statedDiscounted priceNot stated23 September 2026
Earl Shilton BS

Refer: S106 local occupancy restrictions considered to 90% LTV of the reduced (restricted) valuation with full S106 wording required; discount/resale-price schemes not named, interest-only not available on restricted properties.

90%Not statedNot stated23 September 2026
Ecology BS

Refer: England First Homes not named (the First Homes Mortgage product is Scotland-only). An England First Home sold as a discounted market sale may fit the Affordable Local Homes Mortgage: 'Borrow up to 95% of the property's discounted price' (LTV on discounted price), remortgage accepted, if the agreement has a Mortgagee in Possession Clause linked to locality or wage index.

95%Discounted priceAccepted23 September 2026
Furness BS

Considered: S106 / affordable housing accepted on a residential basis (quote: We consider Section 106 and Affordable Housing applications on a residential basis only); deed must show non-onerous occupancy/eligibility terms plus mortgagee-in-possession and mortgagee protection clauses. First Homes not named; no scheme LTV or LTV basis published. General limits would apply: houses 95%, purpose-built flats 90%.

Not statedNot statedNot stated12 October 2026
Marsden BS

No First Homes range in the 22 Sep 2026 product portfolio; residential products top out at 80%. FAQ still says 'minimum loan size of £30,000 for all Residential products, excluding First Homes which rises to £35,000', but the 22 Sep 2026 intermediary portfolio lists no First Homes range (residential max 80%). Scheme-specific LTV not published; general new-build max used: 'New build houses ... maximum 80% LTV'; new build flats not acceptable, existing flats 60% LTV; LTV basis not stated; remortgage not stated for First Homes. Confirm product availability with lender.

80%Not statedNot stated23 September 2026
Newcastle BS

Criteria allow 95% but the only First Homes product (GFHS088) was withdrawn 16/09/2026; check product availability. Criteria entry 'First Homes England Scheme': 'Maximum LTV: 95% of the discounted purchase price' (LTV on discounted price); Authority to Proceed required; standard new-build limits apply (new build flats 90%, 1-bed flats 80%); remortgage accepted ('Subsequent purchases and remortgages of First Homes properties may be considered where lending is assessed against the discounted market value'). Dedicated product GFHS088 (95%) was withdrawn 16/09/2026 and no First Homes product is on the new-customer range at 23-Sep-2026, so check availability.

95%Discounted priceAccepted23 September 2026
Principality

Criteria conflict: conveyancer instructions accept discounted purchases incl. First Homes, but new-build criteria decline S106 affordability restrictions; confirm with the lender. Scheme-specific LTV not published; general new-build max used: 'We lend up to 95% LTV on Residential new build houses in England and Wales (for first time buyers)', 'up to 90% LTV on Residential new flats'. Conveyancer S106 instructions (covering properties bought at a discount, 'including First Homes') apply to purchases and re-mortgages (remortgage accepted, general max 90%), need a mortgagee exclusion clause, 3-6 month cascade or first-sale-only restriction, and valuation at the restricted price (LTV on discounted price). CONFLICT: the same criteria also say 'We will not lend on any property that has a restricted occupancy clause i.e. 157 ... or 106 (relating to property affordability)' - confirm with lender.

95%Discounted priceAccepted23 September 2026
Saffron BS

No First Homes policy published; restrictive covenants are not acceptable if they affect resaleability, so contact Saffron; new-build houses 95% LTV, flats 75%.

Not statedNot statedNot stated23 September 2026
Stafford BS

No First Homes policy published; Section 106 agreements are 'considered' as occupancy restrictions (enhanced valuation), so refer; new-build houses and flats up to 95% LTV.

Not statedNot statedNot stated23 September 2026
Suffolk BS

No First Homes policy; Section 106 cases considered depending on the S106 wording and LTV, so contact the Business Development Team.

Not statedNot statedNot stated23 September 2026
Swansea BS

No First Homes policy; Section 106 restrictions accepted/considered subject to individual criteria (S106 copy required), lender maximum 80% LTV, no shared ownership.

Not statedNot statedNot stated23 September 2026
Together

Most home buying schemes and most Section 106/restricted-sale properties considered by referral via My Broker Venue with full details, at a restricted maximum LTV; Help to Buy and shared equity not offered.

Not statedNot statedNot stated23 September 2026
Declines (27)
AIBHigh street

Not available: AIB (NI) lends only on properties in Northern Ireland, so English First Homes / S106 discounted sale homes are out of scope.

Not statedNot statedNot stated23 September 2026
Bank of IrelandHigh street

Not accepted: properties with occupancy restrictions or onerous restrictive covenants are unacceptable, which excludes S106 eligibility-restricted discounted homes.

Not statedNot statedNot stated23 September 2026
Co-operative BankHigh street

Not accepted: the Bank will not lend where the property is subject to any restriction in occupancy, use or resale (shared ownership/shared equity/RTB also excluded).

Not statedNot statedNot stated23 September 2026
HSBCHigh street

No lending where a covenant restricts who a property may be sold to or for how much, which rules out First Homes.

Not statedNot statedNot stated23 September 2026
Metro BankHigh street

Restrictive covenants on title not accepted, which excludes First Homes resale covenants.

Not statedNot statedNot stated23 September 2026
NatWestHigh street

Restrictions on selling price or on who can buy cannot be considered, which rules out First Homes.

Not statedNot statedNot stated23 September 2026
SantanderHigh street

Santander does not lend where the resale price is restricted to a percentage of open-market value and declines Low Cost Housing Restricted Resale Covenant applications, which covers First Homes.

Not statedNot statedNot stated23 September 2026
TSBHigh street

First Homes is on TSB's unacceptable schemes list.

Not statedNot statedNot stated23 September 2026
Virgin MoneyHigh street

Properties with a pre-emption clause or S106 restriction are usually not acceptable (exceptions only for Right to Buy and shared ownership, where S106 must apply to the initial sale only).

Not statedNot statedNot stated23 September 2026
Accord

Not accepted: Accord lists social housing schemes and properties with restrictions affecting resale value as unacceptable.

Not statedNot statedNot stated23 September 2026
Aldermore

Not accepted: First Homes is a discount market sale and Aldermore lists the Discount Market Scheme as Not Acceptable (First Homes not named); S106 covenants only accepted for local living/working restrictions.

Not statedNot statedNot stated23 September 2026
Central Trust

Not available: Central Trust does not offer purchase mortgages; remortgage of First Homes/discounted sale homes not published.

Not statedNot statedNot stated23 September 2026
Coutts

Not available: Coutts minimum loan for new clients exceeds £1.5m, above the First Homes price cap (£250k, £420k London); no scheme policy published.

Not statedNot statedNot stated23 September 2026
Dudley BS

Not accepted: properties with occupancy restrictions including Section 106 restrictions are listed as unacceptable security.

Not statedNot statedNot stated23 September 2026
Family BS

Not accepted: Discount Market Scheme listed as Not Acceptable and the Society does not lend on properties with a Section 106 restrictive covenant.

Not statedNot statedNot stated23 September 2026
Foundation

Not accepted: properties subject to restrictive covenants or occupancy restrictions are listed as unacceptable property.

Not statedNot statedNot stated23 September 2026
Gatehouse

Not accepted for purchase: affordable housing schemes not acceptable for residential home purchase plans; refinance of affordable housing accepted.

Not statedNot statedNot stated23 September 2026
Generation Home

Section 106 resale restrictions not accepted (First Homes relies on one); no First Homes-specific policy published.

Not statedNot statedNot stated23 September 2026
Harpenden BS

First Home Scheme not accepted.

Not statedNot statedNot stated23 September 2026
Hinckley & Rugby BS

First Homes Scheme not accepted.

Not statedNot statedNot stated23 September 2026
Norton

First Homes Scheme not accepted.

Not statedNot statedNot stated23 September 2026
Perenna

No First Homes policy; any property subject to a planning, occupancy or resale restriction is usually not acceptable (only considered where a strong case shows saleability is unaffected).

Not statedNot statedNot stated23 September 2026
Precise

Precise states First Homes Scheme products are not currently available.

Not statedNot statedNot stated23 September 2026
The Mortgage Lender

No First Homes policy; TML requires even shared-ownership leases to have no re-sale or S106 restrictions and treats occupancy-restricted properties as unacceptable.

Not statedNot statedNot stated23 September 2026
Vernon BS

Vernon states it is unable to consider the First Homes scheme (and S106 restrictive covenants).

Not statedNot statedNot stated23 September 2026
Vida

Vida lists Discounted Market Sales / Section 106 / Section 75 as not acceptable, which covers First Homes (an S106 discounted sale); no First Homes product.

Not statedNot statedNot stated23 September 2026
West Bromwich BS

Low cost housing/restricted resale covenant schemes are unacceptable security, which covers First Homes.

Not statedNot statedNot stated23 September 2026
Publishes no position (21)
Bluestone

Not published: First Homes and discounted market sale not mentioned (schemes-not-accepted list covers Homebuy, Key Worker, shared equity and shared ownership only).

Not statedNot statedNot stated23 September 2026
Cambridge BS

Not published: no First Homes, discounted market sale or S106 policy found (occupancy-restriction exclusion lists 11-month, age and student-only restrictions).

Not statedNot statedNot stated23 September 2026
Coventry BS

Not published: residential criteria do not mention First Homes, discounted market sale, S106 or resale restrictions.

Not statedNot statedNot stated23 September 2026
Cynergy

Not published: no First Homes, discounted market sale or S106 policy found in intermediary criteria.

Not statedNot statedNot stated23 September 2026
Hanley BS

No First Homes policy published; criteria list Section 106 plots as an acceptable restriction, so confirm with lender.

Not statedNot statedNot stated23 September 2026
Hodge

not published

Not statedNot statedNot stated23 September 2026
Kensington

not published

Not statedNot statedNot stated23 September 2026
Lendinvest

not published

Not statedNot statedNot stated23 September 2026
LG Home Finance

Not published (later-life lender; only onerous restrictive covenants such as agricultural ties are declined).

Not statedNot statedNot stated23 September 2026
Livemore

Not published (later-life lender).

Not statedNot statedNot stated23 September 2026
Market Harborough BS

Not published; restrictive covenant or occupancy restrictions considered case by case via BDM.

Not statedNot statedNot stated23 September 2026
Melton BS

not published

Not statedNot statedNot stated23 September 2026
Monmouthshire BS

not published

Not statedNot statedNot stated23 September 2026
Newbury BS

Not published in current criteria A-Z or product guide.

Not statedNot statedNot stated23 September 2026
Nottingham BS

Not published (shared ownership/shared equity/HomeBuy purchases not acceptable).

Not statedNot statedNot stated23 September 2026
Progressive BS

Not published: no First Homes policy found; England lending is limited to South East postcodes via Openwork ARs, houses only (no flats).

Not statedNot statedNot stated23 September 2026
Scottish BS

Not published for England's First Homes; its 'First Homes Fund' products are Scotland's separate equity scheme, not the English discounted-sale scheme.

Not statedNot statedNot stated23 September 2026
Teachers BS

Not published: no First Homes, DMS or S106 policy in the lending criteria; new-build houses max 90% LTV, flats 85%.

Not statedNot statedNot stated23 September 2026
Tipton & Coseley BS

Not published; the only S106 rule (shared ownership) requires any buy-back option to lapse within 3 months so the Society can sell at full market value, which a perpetual discount would not meet without a mortgagee exclusion.

Not statedNot statedNot stated23 September 2026
UTB

Not published: no First Homes, DMS or S106 policy in UTB's residential criteria; new build accepted to max 85% LTV.

Not statedNot statedNot stated23 September 2026
West One

Not published: no First Homes, DMS or S106 policy in West One's residential criteria guide; new-build houses max 85% LTV, flats 75%.

Not statedNot statedNot stated23 September 2026

“Case-by-case” means the lender looks at each application individually or needs more detail; it isn't a no. “Not stated” means our dataset holds no figure, not that there is no limit. Lenders' rules change often, so check the current position with the lender or a mortgage broker before you apply.

What lenders' own criteria pages say

From the lending rules lenders publish for brokers, checked on 23 September 2026:

  • Nationwide: lends up to 95% of the discounted price. Applications above 90% (houses) and 85% (flats) are checked by hand.
  • Halifax: lends up to 95% of the discounted price, but sets the interest rate using the full market value. Accepts remortgages through its Affordable Housing range.
  • Skipton: up to 95% of the discounted price, including new-build houses and flats, with a full valuation.
  • Leeds Building Society: has a range just for First Homes and discount market sale, with a maximum of 80% on the deals available when we checked. Its product sheet says the range isn't designed for remortgages.
  • Pepper Money: lends up to 95% of the purchase price for houses and 90% for flats. Doesn't accept First Homes remortgages. Needs the council's Authority to Proceed (see below).
  • TSB doesn't accept First Homes. NatWest and HSBC don't accept limits on the resale price or on who can buy.

There is no official list of First Homes lenders from Homes England or UK Finance.

Getting a First Homes mortgage

The 50% rule

Your mortgage must cover at least half the discounted price. In the example above that means borrowing at least £115,500 on a £231,000 home, even if you could put down more.

Valuation and down-valuation

Every First Homes sale needs a RICS (Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors) valuation at 100% of market value. On a new build, if the valuer puts the market value below the builder's price (a down-valuation), the sale can't go ahead at that price. Our guide to what happens after a down-valuation covers the general options.

Authority to Proceed

The developer or estate agent sends your application to the council. The council checks you're eligible and issues an “Authority to Proceed”, then an “Authority to Exchange” before contracts are exchanged (when the purchase becomes legally binding). Lenders expect the Authority to Proceed to be in place. The planning agreement must also include a mortgagee exclusion clause: this lets the lender sell at full market value if it ever repossesses the home.

LTV: discounted price or market value?

Loan to value (LTV) is the loan as a percentage of the home's value, and lenders don't all measure it the same way. Nationwide and Skipton use the discounted price. Halifax lends up to 95% of the discounted price but sets the rate using the full market value: on a £100,000 home sold for £70,000, a £66,500 loan gets the rate for 67% LTV rather than 95%, which can mean a lower rate. Halifax, Nationwide, Skipton and Pepper all lend on a repayment basis only (you repay the loan, not just the interest).

Remortgaging later

Remortgaging (moving to a new deal when your first one ends) is where your choice of lender narrows most. Halifax remortgages these homes, Pepper doesn't, and Leeds' range isn't designed for it. New-build flats are often capped at 85–90%. Before you buy, check that more than one lender would take the home on when your first deal ends. See our remortgage guide for how switching works.

Work out your First Homes price and mortgage

£

The value before any discount, as in the sales details.

Discount

At least 30%. Your council may set 40% or 50%.

£
£

5% of the discounted price

Discounted price

£210,000

£90,000 (30%) off a £300,000 market value

Loan needed
£199,500
Deposit
£10,500
  • Meets the rule: Price cap: £250,000

    £210,000 after the discount is within the cap. The cap applies to the first sale only.

  • Meets the rule: Income cap: £80,000

    Income of £40,000 is within the cap. Councils can set a lower cap for the first 3 months of marketing.

  • Meets the rule: First-time buyers only

    Every buyer must be a first-time buyer.

  • Meets the rule: Mortgage of at least 50% of the price

    A £199,500 loan meets the £105,000 minimum.

LTV on discounted price

95%

£199,500 of £210,000

LTV on market value

66.5%

£199,500 of £300,000

Lenders don't all measure these homes the same way. Nationwide and Skipton lend up to 95% of the discounted price. Halifax also lends up to 95% of the discounted price but sets your rate from the LTV on full market value, which can put you in a cheaper rate band. Barclays lends up to 85% of the discounted price but bands its products on full market value, which can put you in a cheaper rate band. Barclays also caps the loan at 80% of market value where there's a Section 106 agreement. The same loan can sit in a different band at different lenders.

Monthly repayment at 5.5%
25 years30 years35 years
£1,225£1,133£1,071

5.5% is an illustrative rate, not a quote. Your rate depends on the lender, your LTV band and the product.

Your £199,500 loan sits inside the £178,000 to £240,000 range that the headline multiples of the 20 lenders we model give on an income of £40,000, so only some lenders could lend it.

These are headline income multiples across 20 lenders, including some that don't lend on First Homes or discount market sale homes (for example NatWest, Santander, HSBC and Metro Bank). Above 90% LTV many lenders cap borrowing at about 4 to 4.5 times income. Check the lender list below and the full check.

10 of the 75 lenders in our criteria data accept First Homes in their published criteria.

Check what you could borrow across lenders

Free, no credit search. We carry over the £210,000 discounted price as the purchase price and your £199,500 loan and your income.

Open the full calculator

Information only, not advice.

Selling, letting and leaving the scheme

  • Selling: you sell to an eligible buyer at the same percentage discount on the market value at the time. The council signs off the sale, and you need a new RICS valuation.
  • If it won't sell: after six months, or in hardship, you can ask the council to let you sell on the open market. You then pay the council the discount percentage of the sale price. The council can instead buy the home, or ask you to market it for another six months.
  • Renting it out: up to two years in total, after telling the council and your lender. Longer only for set reasons, such as relocating or a relationship breakdown. A lodger is fine.

Worked example: selling and paying back the discount

You bought for £231,000 with a 30% discount. Some years later the home is valued at £360,000 (an example figure).

  • Sale to an eligible buyer: 30% off £360,000, so the price is £252,000. The £250,000 cap doesn't apply to resales.
  • Open-market sale, if the council agrees: the home sells for £360,000 and you repay 30% (£108,000) to the council, leaving £252,000.

Either way you keep 70% of the value before repaying your mortgage and paying selling costs. The discount never becomes yours.

First Homes vs shared ownership vs a standard purchase

First HomesShared ownershipStandard purchase
What you own100%, at 30–50% offA share, renting the rest100%, at full price
RentNoneOn the share you don't ownNone
Buying more laterNot possibleYes (called staircasing)Not applicable
When you sellAt the same % discount, to an eligible buyer—Open market
Homes completed 2024-2529220,360—
2026-36 affordable homes fundingNot fundedFunded—

To see what you could borrow on a shared ownership share, with rent and the service charge (for upkeep of the building) counted, try the shared ownership mortgage calculator, and read how shared ownership affordability works.

For a standard purchase, savings accounts matter more. The Budget on 28 October 2026 confirmed a First Time Buyer ISA to replace the Lifetime ISA for new savers from April 2029. It keeps the £4,000 a year limit and the 25% bonus. The bonus is paid when you take the money out to buy a first home of up to £450,000, so there's no withdrawal charge. Existing Lifetime ISAs can continue. The first-time buyer schemes guide covers every scheme side by side.

Discount schemes run by councils outside First Homes are covered in our guide to discount market sale homes.

Frequently asked questions

Is the First Homes scheme still available?

Yes, on paper. The gov.uk buyer guide still shows the scheme as open. But in December 2024 the government dropped the national rule that 25% of affordable housing should be First Homes, and the planning rules that apply from 17 August 2026 don't appear to mention First Homes. So whether new ones are built now depends on individual councils choosing to ask for them, and some have scrapped their First Homes policies.

What's the catch with First Homes?

The discount stays with the home. When you sell, you normally sell to another eligible buyer at the same percentage discount, so you never get the full market value. You also need a mortgage for at least half the discounted price, and you can only rent the home out for up to two years in total unless you have a set reason. Fewer lenders will lend, or let you remortgage later, than on a standard purchase. And there aren't many: 292 First Homes were completed in England in 2024-25.

Which lenders accept First Homes?

Of the 75 residential lenders in our criteria dataset, 54 publish a position on First Homes: 10 accept it, 17 look at it case-by-case and 27 decline it. The other 21 publish nothing either way, so ask the lender directly. High-street names marked as accepting include Barclays, Halifax and Nationwide. Those that decline include AIB, Bank of Ireland, Co-operative Bank, HSBC, Metro Bank, NatWest, Santander, TSB, Virgin Money, Accord, Aldermore, Central Trust, Coutts, Dudley BS, Family BS, Foundation, Gatehouse, Generation Home, Harpenden BS, Hinckley & Rugby BS, Norton, Perenna, Precise, The Mortgage Lender, Vernon BS, Vida and West Bromwich BS. Lenders also differ on whether they measure loan to value on the discounted price or the full market value, and on remortgages. So check the table on this page and the lender's current rules.

Can I sell a First Home?

Yes. You sell to an eligible buyer at the same percentage discount on the market value at the time, and the council signs off the sale. If it hasn't sold after six months, or you're in hardship, you can ask the council to let you sell on the open market and pay it the discount percentage of the sale price.

Can I rent out a First Home?

Only for up to two years in total, and you must tell the council and your lender. You can rent it out for longer only for set reasons, such as relocating or a relationship breakdown. Taking in a lodger is fine.

What happens if my First Home won't sell?

If it hasn't sold to an eligible buyer after six months, you can ask the council to let you sell on the open market. If it agrees, you pay the council the discount percentage of the sale price. The council can instead buy the home itself, or ask you to market it for another six months.

Can I buy out the First Homes discount?

No. The national scheme has no way to buy out the discount or to staircase (buy more of the home), because you already own 100% of it. The discount is locked in by a planning agreement and a restriction on the title (a note on the home's legal record). The only way to sell at full market value is the open-market route, if the council agrees, and then the discount percentage of the sale price goes back to the council.

First Homes or shared ownership: which is better?

They suit different situations. With First Homes you own the whole home at a discount of at least 30%, pay no rent, and sell at a discount. With shared ownership you buy a share, pay rent on the rest, and can buy more shares later. There are far more shared ownership homes: about 20,000 a year against 292 First Homes in 2024-25, and it's where the government's 2026-36 affordable homes funding is going.

Is First Homes only for new builds?

When first sold they're new builds, provided through planning agreements on new developments and sold by the developer. When an owner later sells, the home goes to another eligible buyer at the same percentage discount, so second-hand First Homes can come up too. The £250,000 (£420,000 in London) price cap applies to the first sale only.

Can I buy a First Home in London?

In principle, yes: in London the price after the discount can be up to £420,000, and household income up to £90,000. In practice there are very few.

This guide is information, not advice, and is not a recommendation to take out any specific mortgage product. We are not FCA authorised. Scheme rules and lender criteria change, so confirm them with your council, the lender or a qualified, FCA-authorised adviser before you act.

See what you could borrow

A free check across UK lenders in about 5 minutes, with no credit search.

Start My Free Check
Written & reviewed byPhillip Wakeling-Smith— Mortgage Adviser (CeMAP)
Share:WhatsAppFacebook

We compare affordability across 57 UK lenders

HSBCBarclaysNatWestNationwideHalifaxSantander
57lenders compared